Review – Keir Choreographic Awards Finals

Carriageworks, Sydney
Saturday, 19th July, 8pm

The Keir Choreographic Award is a new national choreography competition dedicated to commissioning new work and promoting innovation in contemporary dance in Australia. Initiated by the Keir Foundation with support from Carriageworks, Dancehouse and the Australia Council, this biennial award follows the likes of the prestigious Place Prize in London, the first recipient of which was Sydney Dance Company’s Artistic Director, Raphael Bonachela.

Five international and highly respected judges selected eight artists from a pool of 80 video entries nationwide. These artists were then commissioned to develop their proposals into 20-minute works for which they received a fee, a production budget and in-kind space. From these works, which were presented at Melbourne’s Dancehouse, on 10–13 July, four finalists were chosen: Sarah Aiken, Matthew Day, Atlanta Eke and Jane McKernan.

Read Full review here